This is about EVE Online

An analysis of turrets’ attributes – 1

Introduction

A long, long time ago I wrote a post in which I tried to analyse the differences between turrets. I was looking to form my own opinions on the subject, rather than guessing or accepting what others said, especially in a game like EVE Online in which there are many players with opinions. Due to my limitations with the latest developments in software at that time (my skills were focused on C and C++ as applied to science and engineering), I extracted the data manually (from the info page of each item) for the meta 0 items only, and did an analysis with the understanding that the higher meta variants kept their relative differences unchanged – meaning that the meta 0 rankings would still remain true for the meta 5 items. Since I was only interested in the relative comparison between the turrets, and not actually looking for the dps (or any other) value, such a reasoning seemed valid (I still think it is).

Nowadays, I discovered the beauty of SQL together with the EVE data dump, and I am proudly presenting you with the latest analysis, this time including all items. I must admit that spreadsheets were still employed to carry out the sorting and comparison functions, as I am still in the process of learning how to do that directly in SQL. I tell you, if ever you need to learn new software and techniques, do that on the data dump of your favourite MMO! In this regard, a big thank you goes to the authors of this and this post.

So I will be posting a series of articles in order to present the data and make it readable and manageable. The plan for the posts is as follows:

  1. Presentation of the series (this post);
  2. The analytic framework;
  3. Raw data for small turrets;
  4. Analysis, comparison and rankings for small turrets;
  5. Raw data for medium turrets;
  6. Analysis, comparison and rankings for medium turrets;
  7. Raw data for large turrets;
  8. Analysis, comparison and rankings for large turrets;
  9. Raw data, analysis, comparison and rankings for the extra large turrets.

In carrying out my research, I was very frustrated at not finding the raw data readily available for copy-pasting in a spreadsheet. In this series you will find the raw data available for your enjoyment. I also hope to stimulate your creativity in playing with the numbers and come out with your own discoveries and conclusions. Based on feedback and RL time availability, I also plan to carry out a similar study of the numerous hulls available ingame.

One response

  1. With every new release, CCP publishes a Microsoft SQL database backup file of their static data. You can find the most up to date file on the Community Toolkit website.

    16/02/2013 at 12:05

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.