This is about EVE Online

Can one have two personalities (and still be called a sane person)?

In reading about EVE Online, especially the debates amongst players-bloggers on their blogs about whether the behaviour in-game reflects one’s real life personality, there seems to be the understanding, accepted as true, that players are allowed to have a separate personality in the game world.  These go to lengths in explaining that griefing (and doing all sorts of bad things to) other players is ok because that is the game world, and there are no real world repercussions because after all, this is just a game!

I have tried it myself.  I have tried griefing, I have tried being part of null sec alliance, I have tried doing what others command, just to be part of the team, I have tried playing all those style which other players, especially the most loud and verbose of the pvpers and (some) bloggers call fun.  As a general conclusion, I cannot behave in a way which is different from that which comes natural to me.  I repeat, I CANNOT behave in two different ways in-game and in the real world.  I cannot even manage to have two accounts which behave differently from each other.  I have settled with two accounts which complement each other.

To clarify a little bit, it’s not the behaviour that I cannot do; it’s what comes afterwards, the conscience if you may.  That stays the same, no matter how much you try.  If you behave in a way which goes against your inner set of rules, you will feel it.  Conversely, if you behave repeatedly in a bad way, even in game, you don’t have those internal set of rules which make you a good decent person.

You’d say that this is a wild conclusion based only on my personal experience.  How can I generalise based on one, my own, experience.  Well, I tell you that based on my same experiences, there are certain realities which are true to all, and this is one of them.

So stop justifying your bad, psychopatic behaviour as ok because it’s ingame.  If that excuse consoles you, well I tell you that you have done a good job in killing your conscience, and that I do not want to meet you in real life, because deep down, you’re bad.  Yes you are!  Unless you are perfectly capable of having multiple personalities, in which case I also do not want to meet you, for obvious reasons.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.